Research & Development

Trust.R&D@nuth.nhs.uk
Submission of projects for sponsorship and NHS Management review, submission of amendments for review and general queries.

Research & Development Assistant Administrator
Enquiries regarding new submissions to R&D, registering new projects, research passports and general administrative support.

Ellie Drummond
Email: Ellie.Drummond@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824926

Victoria Ternent
Email: Victoria.Ternent@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel:  0191 2826773

Research & Development Officer
Support with research governance issues, processing new applications for Trust assessment, amendments.

Elaine Chapman
Email: Elaine.Chapman@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2825490

Ayesha Clark
Email: Ayesha.Clark@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824523

Gemma Whitehead
Email: Gemma.Whitehead@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824522

Research Management & Governance Managers

Research governance issues, contract review, review of applications for Trust sponsorship

Aaron Jackson
Email: Aaron.Jackson@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2825789

Tom Spencer 
Email: Thomas.Spencer@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824510

Regulatory Compliance Team 

Sean Scott – Regulatory Compliance Manager 
Email: sean.scott@nhs.net
Tel: 0191 2824461

Rebecca Johnson – Research Governance Specialist
Email: rebecca.johnson4@nhs.net
Tel: 0191 2824454

Chris Price – R&D Officer
Email: christopher.price6@nhs.net
Tel: 0191 2824452

Joseph Taylor – R&D Regulatory Compliance Administrator
Email: joseph.taylor5@nhs.net
Tel: 0191 2824457

NHS Contracts Manager

Andrew Johnston 
Email: Andrew.Johnston@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2825969

Information Team
Ensures the high quality collection, analysis and reporting of research-related information including study activity and performance data.

Lesley McShane – Information Manager
Email: Lesley.McShane@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2823839

Adam Unsworth – Information Specialist
Email: Adam.Unsworth@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 282 4509

Kelsie Thomas – Research Information Officer
Email: Kelsie.Thomas@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2821053

Trevor Liddle – Information Analyst
Email: t.liddle@nhs.net
Tel: 0191 2826772

Patient, Carer and Public Involvement Manager
Strategically manages the development and delivery of patient, carer and public involvement in research.

Tracy Scott
Email: Tracy.Scott5@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2820774

Industry Support Team
Help to support industry sponsored research studies within the Trust.

Kath Tanney – Industry Manager
Email: Katherine.Tanney@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2829234

Adrian Hawkins – Industry Support Officer
Email: Adrian.Hawkins@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2826249

Dr Stephen Lynn – Commercial, non-pharma
Email: Stephen.lynn@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824451

Research Governance Manager
Leading research governance across the Trust and head of the Trust R&D team within the NJRO.

Susan Ridge
Email: Susan.Ridge@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824823

Research Quality Assurance Team
Leading research quality assurance across the Trust.

Gillian Robson – Research Quality Assurance Manager
Email: Gillian.Robson2@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2825492

Jack Oliver – Assistant Quality Assurance Manager 
Email: Jack.Oliver@nuth.nhs.uk
Tel: 0191 2824459

Image: Technician sorts Test tubes